Banks & FinTech Companies, Enemies Forever – or Are They? Part 1 | блог JuicyScore

When it comes to the ongoing tension between fintech startups and banks, there’s no shortage of speculation regarding who will come out ahead. While it may seem like these two entities are perpetually at odds, the truth is there’s actually a substantial number of industry players on both sides of the fence that are cooperating with each other.

Loan applications’ exchanges, borrowers’ data exchanges between online transaction organisations and creditors, and collaborative studies on technological development are just a few examples where banks and fintech are collaborating. But the question still stands: How long can this uneasy truce last?

The JuicyScore team decided to take a deeper look into this phenomenon. We started with a detailed analysis of the major growth strategies in financial industry. As a result, we identified several fundamental factors influencing competitiveness in the industry. To simplify the overall picture, we focussed on the two major factors that define competitiveness in the retail assets business and that can be independently measured or estimated: 1) cost of funding, and 2) the amount of data used in credit conveyors.

Chart 1: Markers represent non-specific companies. The size of a marker indicates the proxy to amount of active clients who use credit products. Sources: The Central Bank of the Russian Federation, expert estimations
This chart shows that among the large number of growth strategies, the two most relevant are the reduction of the cost of funding (money business)and credit conveyor strengthening strategies (data business), which correspond in turn to the classic company sectors of Banking and FinTech.

The way various finance industry sectors will cooperate further depends on the extent of aspiration to compete in the nearby sectors, and on the way major features of the two key development trends within companies will develop in the future. To boil it down to layman’s terms: “You scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours.”

Let’s review these questions separately.

The aspiration to compete will be defined in many ways by the growth rates of these segments. Currently fintech sector growth is 5-10 times higher than the banking sector. Moreover, if we consider the clients’ base, the fintech sector volume is already at 10%+ of the total banking sector, and the gap between the sectors is rapidly narrowing. This trend is not unique to Russia (see Chart 2).

Chart 2: Fintech includes companies involved in alternative credit (alternative lending & online lending). Growth data for the industries for 2013-2017 have been estimated. Sources: Expert RA, the Central Bank of the Russian Federation, Bank of England
If we look in detail at the major competitive advantages of companies in the banking and fintech, two important aspects emerge—the pace of change/innovation implementation in products (Idea2Client time) and the rate that money is attracted (cost of funds).

Chart 3: Comparison of major growth drivers—Idea2Client and cost of credit funding
Despite the rapid introduction of agile approach in banks, fintech companies have significant advantages in implementation of the new ideas and innovations. These advantages are related not only to the widespread use of new technologies, but also to the working culture of fintech companies. We observed Agile-driven management in various forms in almost all fintech companies, and unlike banks, all key personnel with no exception (often including the CEO) worked on the product development and promotion; even including writing software code and taking part in product testing. Banks overcome that fintech superiority by attracting resources at significantly lower rates. This poses the question: How long will the banks retain their advantage? An analysis shows that the major fintech industry players can attract funds at rates comparable with average banks, and the gap is narrowing every year.

In the next few years, we will likely see the expansion of activities by leaders of the banking and fintech sectors. This expansion will also be due to the growth in related finance industry sectors. Most likely, we will witness a greater number of mergers and acquisitions in the market driven by desire of competing companies to gain a share of the market and/or to acquire a team of professionals and experts with the necessary competences.

Ultimately, there is one thing that will always bring the two sides together: the desire for growth.

Have a question for us about something that is relevant to the development of your business? Send your queries to info@juicyscore.com and we will do our best to cover them in our publications and studies.

Мы часто слышим вопрос про текущее положение FinTech компаний и Банков — «кто кого?». Сейчас мы видим скорее сотрудничество между различными игроками данных сегментов финансовой индустрии. Примеров тому много — обмен заявками на кредиты, обмен данными между платежными организациями и кредиторами, и совместное развитие технологий. Но остается вопрос — надолго ли сохранится данное сотрудничество?

Мы провели детальный анализ основных факторов успеха наиболее крупных банковских и FinTech  игроков. В результате мы выделили несколько краеугольных факторов конкурентоспособности. Для упрощения восприятия общей картины мы уменьшили число данных факторов до двух основных, которые  наиболее сильно определяют конкурентоспособность в этих индустриях и которые можно независимо измерить — стоимость фондирования (Cost of Funds) и число используемых данных в кредитных конвейерах, по сути уровень технологичности кредитных конвейеров.


График 1: Объекты в виде маркеров — обезличенные компании. Размер маркера обозначает группу (размер) активных клиентов, пользующихся кредитными продуктами. Источники: ЦБ РФ, оценки экспертов

Данный график говорит о том, что среди большого количества стратегий развития выделяются две наиболее актуальные сегодня — это стратегия снижения стоимость фондирования (Money Business) и стратегия усиления кредитного конвейера (Data Business), которые в свою очередь соответствуют классическим Банкам и FinTech компаниям.

Вопрос дальнейшего сотрудничества различных сегментов финансового сектора можно транслировать в вопрос развития основных компетенций двух крупных направлений развития компаний и желания конкурировать в смежных сегментах.

Давайте рассмотрим отдельно эти вопросы.
Желание конкурировать во многом будет определено темпами роста данных сегментов. На текущий момент рост сегмента FinTech превосходит Банковский бизнес в 5-10 раз. Более того, если рассмотреть клиентскую базу, то объем FinTech сегмента уже превысил 10%+ от банковского и эта разница продолжит сокращаться. Данная тенденция наблюдается не только в нашей стране (см График 2).


График 2: В Fintech включены игроки из альтернативного кредитования (Alternative Lending & Online Lending). Данные роста индустрий оценивались для 2013-17гг. Источники — РА Эксперт, ЦБ РФ, Bank of England

Если более внимательно взглянуть на основные конкурентные преимущества компаний в банковском и FinTech секторах, то мы прийдем к двум важным аспектам — к скорости реализации изменений в продуктах Idea2Client и в стоимости привлечения денег.


График 3: Сравнение основных драйверов роста — Idae2Client и Стоимости фондирования кредитов

Несмотря на активное внедрение Agile технологий в Банках, FinTech компании имеют существенное преимущество во внедрении новых идей и инноваций. Это преимущество не только связано с повсеместным использованием новых технологий, но в том числе и с культурой работы FinTech компаний на рынке. Практически во всех FinTech  компаниях, мы наблюдали различные вариации Agile организации, но явным отличием от Банков было то, что в FinTech компаниях все основные сотрудники без исключения (часто, включая CEO) работали над продуктом и его продвижением, вплоть до написания программного кода и участия в тестировании продуктов. Банки с лихвой компенсируют данный перевес за счет привлечения более дешевых ресурсов. Возникает вопрос, надолго ли хватит Банкам данного преимущества? Предварительный анализ говорит, что единичные лидеры в сфере FinTech индустрии уже могут привлекать средства по сопоставимым ставкам со средними Банками и это отставание сокращается от года к году.

В ближайшие несколько лет мы увидим расширение деятельности лидеров как банковского сектора, так и FinTech компаний. Это расширение будет происходить в том числе и за счет роста в смежных секторах финансовой отрасли. Скорее всего, мы будем наблюдать рост числа поглощений на рынке, в тех случаях, когда игрокам будет сложно реализовать часть необходимых конкурентных преимуществ и компании будут стремиться приобрести как долю рынка в том или ином сегменте, так и необходимые компетенции ввиде команды специалистов и экспертов.