The Fascinating Geography of Online Fraud in Russia | блог JuicyScore

There is clearly a fraud problem in our industry. Over the past year, the level of technical fraud in has increased by a staggering 80%. What’s more, among new applications that have been on the market for more than three years, an average of 4-6% have fallen prey to fraud (and throw in another 10-20% among online lenders that have appeared in the past 12 months).

The main components of technical fraud are still identity theft and the use of frontmen and users in the process of obtaining money. In addition to technical fraud, the so-called “social” fraud is actively developing, characterized by a large number of applications from one real user or using the principle of the “pyramid”: the borrower successfully takes several loans in a row, each time raising their credit limit, and when the maximum limit is reached, he refuses to pay the credit.

To better understand the existing mechanisms and ecosystem of fraudulent networks in Russia, we have conducted a detailed geographic analysis of the spread of fraud and the technologies used in it. The analysis included more than 500 Russian cities. According to the results obtained, more than 30% of all technical cases and about 10-15% of the cases of social fraud are related locations with socio-taught situation. The risk level for cities is shown in the following graph:


Graph: The level of risk in Russia corresponds to the color of the marker – min = 0.05 and max = 0.37;
The size of the marker corresponds to the number of applications in the city
 

There are four types of cities in which the level of risk of fraud is much higher than average:

  • Satellite towns of large centers, where penitentiary institutions are located.
  • Socially unprotected cities. This includes those dominated by “social” fraud, for example, the town of Kondopoga and some towns in the Crimea. After discussion with the market leaders, we found out that it is a standard practice to block applications from towns that met this criteria. However, it is  our opinion that this is excessive and creates niches for other players in the market.
  • Regime cities. A number of closed cities, “military towns”, and several small towns with a predominance of technical fraud; for example, the village of Lenin and the town of Uzhur.
  • Cities associated with botnets and fraudnets. Such associations are easy to detect and their applications are, as a rule, immediately eliminated. (A good example is the town of Timashevsk.) Most likely, these technologies are used for stress-testing of systems and more effective SEO indexing of sites by search engines.

Observation: If we exclude the first 41 towns with the highest risk of fraud (15% of observations), the average level of risk in the regions becomes more homogeneous.

We hope that our review was helpful to you. In the future, we are planning to conduct similar studies and familiarize market participants with them. The more we educate ourselves about fraud, the better we can protect the entire industry from it.

Have a question for us about something that is relevant to the development of your business? Send your queries to info@juicyscore.com and we will do our best to cover them in our publications and studies.

Мы подготовили для Вас аналитический обзор географии онлайн-фрода, обусловленного структурными и социальными факторами:

За прошедший год уровень технического фрода для онлайн-МФО возрос на 80%  и достигает в среднем 4-6% среди новых заявок, присутствующих на рынке более трех лет, и 10-20% для МФО, появившихся за последние 12 месяцев.
Основными составляющими технического фрода остаются Identity Theft и использование подставных лиц и пользователей в процессе получения денег. Помимо технического фрода активно растет «социальный» фрод, который характеризуется большим числом заявок на одного реального пользователя или использованием принципа «пирамиды»: заемщик берет последовательно несколько займов, повышая каждый раз лимит кредитования, и при достижении максимального лимита происходит отказ от погашения.

Пытаясь лучше понять существующие механизмы и экосистему фроднетов в России, мы провели детальный анализ распределения фрода и используемых технологий по географическому принципу. Анализ включал более 500 городов России. Результаты показали, что свыше 30% всего технического и ~10-15%  социального фрода обусловлены особенностями географического положения или социально-экономической спецификой тех или иных городов в стране. Уровень риска по городам представлен на следующем графике:

График: Уровень риска по городам России соответсвует цвету маркера — мин=0,05 и макс=0,37;
размер маркера соответвует числу заявок в городе

Существует 4 типа городов, в которых уровень фрод-риска существенно выше среднего:

  • Сателлиты крупных городов, где находятся пенитенциарные учреждения.
  • Социально неблагополучные поселки с преобладанием «социального» фрода. Например, п. Кондoпога и несколько городов в Крыму. После обсуждения с лидерами рынка мы выяснили, что часто практикуется блокировка заявок из данного типа городов, что на наш взгляд является чрезмерным  и создает ниши для других игроков на рынке.
  • Закрытые города — ряд ЗАТО, «военные городки» и несколько небольших поселков с преобладанием технического фрода. Например, п. Ленина и г. Ужур.
  • Несколько городов, где наблюдается объединения ботнетов и фроднетов. Такие фроднеты легко обнаруживаются и их заявки, как правило, сразу отсеиваются. Например, г. Тимашёвск. Скорее всего данные технологии используются для стресс-тестирования систем и более эффективной SEO индексации сайтов поисковиками.

Наблюдение: если исключить первые 41 наиболее фрод рискованных города и поселка или 15% наблюдений, то средний уровень риска по регионам и областям становится более  однородным.

Надеемся, наш обзор был Вам полезен. В дальнейшем мы планируем проводить аналогичные исследования и предоставлять их участникам рынка. Напишите нам, какие вопросы и темы являются наиболее актуальными для развития вашего бизнеса.