We continue our series of articles about the meaningfulness of data describing the behavior of users on the Internet. In this article, we announce the launch of a global research project dedicated to studying users’ behavior, psychological types, and credit risks. The results of many recent studies have revealed that a person’s psychological type has a significant influence on his/her credit risk. There are a number of reasons:

  • First, our psychological type correlates with our income. If we take, for example, classification of psychological types, we will see that people with the psychological types characteristic of leaders (ESTJ/ENTJ) earn, on average, more than twice as much as the members of the ISFP/ISTP group, which is characteristic of people who work in the service sector or charity.
  • Our psychological type is also strongly linked to how we spend. More expressive and sensitive people tend to buy more and take out consumer loans, and they use credit cards more frequently.
  • Additionally, our psychological type determines how punctually we pay back loans and fulfill our promises and obligations. For example, people who are inclined to manage others and organize their work usually repay their loans more responsibly and try to avoid falling into arrears, even if money is tight.

The graph of average income with respect to a minimum level versus psychological type shows that there are significant differences in income among people with different psychological types.

 

* For more information research, please visit https://goo.gl/zwAJrc. The income of INTPs is taken as the basis (1).

 

Despite the fact that such connections do exist, the following problems have often arisen in connection with the use of this type of data:

  • Difficulties associated with data collection. Until recent times, it was difficult to collect such data, since the average user spent 5–20 minutes filling out one questionnaire. Moreover, if completing a questionnaire was required in order to submit a loan application or place an order, the conversion rate decreased by 60–80%.
  • The hit rate of non-intrusive data was low. For example, the social media hit rate was, on average, 60–85%, while clickstream data was plagued by low reliability because of the lack of sufficient historical information for a large user population.

According to our research, an analysis of the behavior and interests of people on the Internet can solve most of the problems associated with determining the psychological type of users. As an example, let’s discuss the differences between extraverts and introverts.

  • An introvert: tries to read the information on the page; enters data at an even pace; rarely switches between tabs; sometimes uses ad blockers; has a relatively small number of active sessions on social networks; etc.
  • An extravert: skims text; focuses on visual content or highlighted text; sometimes highlights certain text to focus on it; often switches between tabs; much less frequently uses ad blockers; has more active sessions on social networks and mail services; etc.

We plan to publish the full results of this research this autumn. Preliminary work has been done, but we plan to get a large amount of depersonalized data, which requires a great deal of time and significant investments in research.

If you are interested in our work, please contact us, and we will share the results with you.

Мы продолжаем наши публикации о содержательности данных онлайн-поведения пользователей. В этой статье мы анонсируем запуск глобального исследовательского проекта, связанного с нашим поведением онлайн, нашим психотипом и кредитными рисками. Большое число недавних исследований показали значимое влияние психотипа человека на оценку кредитного риска. Этому есть ряд объяснений:

  • Наш психотип коррелирует с нашими доходами. Например, если мы возьмем MBTI (классификация Mayers-Briggs), то мы увидим что группа из психотипов свойственных лидерам — ESTJ/ ENTJ в среднем имеют доход в 2+ раза больше по сравнению с группой ISFP/ISTP, свойственной людям, работающим в сфере обслуживания и благотворительности;
  • Наш психотип сильно влияет на наше поведение в расходах. Более экспрессивные люди и люди, имеющие сильно выраженный чувственный характер, как правило, активнее совершают покупки и берут кредиты на потребительские расходы, чаще используют кредитные карты;
  • Наш психотип определяет то, как аккуратно мы платим по кредитам и выполняем свои обещания и обязательства. Например, люди склонные к управлению людьми и к организационным работам более аккуратно погашают свои кредиты и стараются не допускать по ним задолженностей, несмотря на возможную нехватку финансовых средств.

Если посмотреть на диаграмму зависимости среднего уровня дохода относительно минимальной  заработной платы от типа личности, можно заметить существенную разницу в доходах у людей, которые отличаются психотипом.

* ссылка на исследование про MBTI- https://goo.gl/zwAJrc. Уровень доходов INTP принят за 1.

Несмотря на имеющиеся знания о подобном влиянии, часто возникал ряд проблем с использованием этого типа данных:

  • Сложность в сборе данных — собрать подобные данные до недавнего времени было сложно, так как заполнение одного опросника пользователем в среднем составляло от 5 до 20 минут. Более того, если ставить обязательным заполнение опроса перед анкетой на кредит или покупкой товара, то уровень конверсии падает на 60-80%;
  • Неинтрузивные данные обладали низким уровнем hit rate — например, оценки социальных сетей в среднем давали hit rate в 60-85%, данные clickstream имели проблему, связанную с низкой достоверностью из-за отсутствия достаточной истории для большой популяции пользователей;

Наши исследования показали, что наше поведение и интересы в онлайне, позволяют решить большинство существующих проблем определения психотипа пользователя. Приведем пример — различия Экстравертных и Интровертных пользователей:

  • Интроверт: старается прочесть содержание страницы, имеет равномерный ритм ввода данных, редко переключается между вкладками, иногда использует блокираторы рекламы, имеет относительно небольшое число активных сессий в социальных сетях и так далее;
  • Экстраверт: читает текст “по диагонали”, фокусируется на визуальных образах или выделенном тексте, иногда выделяет отдельные части текста чтобы сосредоточиться, часто переключаются между вкладками, намного реже использует блокираторы и имеет значительное число активных сессий в социальных сетях и почтовых сервисах и так далее.

Мы планируем опубликовать полные результаты исследования осенью этого года. Несмотря на имеющиеся наработки, мы планируем получить большой объем деперсонализированых данных, что требует значительного времени и инвестиций в исследования.

Если Вас заинтересовали данные исследования, дайте нам знать  и мы поделимся с Вами результатами нашего исследования.